The Intuition vs The Ego

SPRINGTIME.jpg

The intuition can be known as your soul’s voice, your gut feeling or your heart. When we tell people to listen to their hearts, it means listen to their intuition. The intuition is our inner GPS as my favorite book, “Drömliv”, calls it. It is our inner internet and carries so much knowledge and wisdom, much more than the ego does. The intuition is the voice of our soul. The soul is free from hate, evil and darkness. Your soul is pure. And it loves you. The soul wants the best for you. Whatever it says (what your intuition says), it’s for your own good. Actually it knows what your path looks like. It’s a GPS. It carries as much knowledge as the internet. It knows what you need right here and now to get where you are supposed to. It wants you to have long-term happiness.

The ego, however, is like a reckless driver. Turns and breaks and stomps the gas to gain temporary happiness. The ego is superficial, judgmental and greedy. It’s your ego’s voice who says “your legs look big in these jeans” and other self hating things. It’s not always hateful towards you, but has no idea what the right path is. Therefor, you should not trust it.

As my favorite book puts it; you should rather put your soul in the driver’s seat than the ego. The ego has no idea what road leads to true, long-term happiness. The soul, however, is the GPS which knows exactly where you’re going. It knows how to take smaller roads to save you from obstacles on the way. It wants the best for you, in a long term sense.

Your ego, mind and common sense are different from the intuition. But you can hear them all. How do you know what’s your intuition and what’s your ego? This is the hard part, but fully possible; you just have to practice. Your intuition is always there. But its sound can be blocked by over thinking, emotions and your ego. That is why it’s so important to spend some time alone. When you shut off the world and social media, you are more likely to hear it. Meditation will help you calm down emotionally and clear your head. Ask yourself repeatedly “do I want this?”, “What should I do?” etc. The answer is there. If you’re not sure, keep listening. If you experience a lot of struggle, obstacles and feel nothing but unhappy, it’s a sign that you’re going against the intuition. The intuition will get louder and louder until you do as it says. And then – weight will leave your shoulders, you’ll feel hope and love pouring from your soul.

Example 1 – The intuition knows the true you

My soul knows who I am. I am a girl who likes exclusivity in relationships. I’d rather have one partner than several men. I’d rather share my body with very few than many. That’s just me. Sexuality is a very interesting topic for me, but I prefer exploring it with one person who is special to me. Going in the opposite direction always makes me feel a bit empty and not myself. I admit, I have tried, and have come to the conclusion that being intimate with a person I like makes me happier than being intimate with someone who is just “hot” but means nothing more to me.

Example 2 – What happened this year when I ignored my intuition

This year, I have gone against my intuition a lot. I know that I heard it but I kept ignoring it. And as I described it, it got louder and louder. I got less and less happy. Suddenly, I found myself in a hole I had dug of unhappiness, emotional pain and anxiety. I met obstacle after obstacle. I’ve gone against my intuition in my career, in my relationships and my lifestyle. Finally I started to change certain things about my life. Slowly but surely, I’m getting my old happy self back and the love for life too. I am listening to my intuition as carefully as I can in order to build myself up again. Going against it taught me a lot and I will carry that lesson with me to the next chapter of my life.

Example 3 – What happened when I ignored my intuition a few years back

A few years ago I was in a relationship with a super sweet person. A dream boyfriend, really! He would do everything for me. He had so many qualities. He was one of the most romantic men I had ever met. When I was with him, I thought he was so sweet but I didn’t feel in love or very attracted. I still continued the relationship. Because he was a dream guy, right? I couldn’t be so stupid to give up on a guy like that! But I kept feeling like something was wrong. When I kissed him, it didn’t feel right. When I slept next to him, it didn’t feel right. I started to feel anxious. Why couldn’t I decide? To stay or to go? At one point, I even broke down in tears in school in front of my friends who didn’t understand what was happening. I kept going anyway. Until one day. I felt nothing anymore. I felt like I’d rather study at home than to spend time with him. I finally understood that he wasn’t MY dream boyfriend. He wasn’t right for ME. And if I kept going he would just get hurt. I ended it and – wow. I felt so liberated. The pressure in my chest disappeared. I kept listening to my intuition and I felt like in a flow every day. Positive things came up all the time – good grades, compliments from teachers, fun days with friends, cool opportunities, new exciting contacts… It was amazing to see it in practice.

Basically;

When your ego is in the driver’s seat you’ll experience happiness and joy in small doses. Your life is like a roller coaster. You’ll have rushes of joy just like you have coffee rushes and then it will drop just like the caffeine does after a while. The ego is a reckless driver, remember!

The intuition has a GPS and knows who you truly are and where you have to go. When the intuition is driving, you’ll experience a comfortable ride. You’ll feel this foundation of happiness within you. Whether you have achieved all your goals are not. You enjoy the process. You feel grateful. You love life. And as people love someone who spreads joy, you will attract more positive things in life. You’ll live in a constant flow.

It starts within. It’s not easy. That is why nourishing your relationship to your soul and inner peace is so powerful.

Good luck! ❤

Untitled

One thought on “The Intuition vs The Ego

Leave a Reply

